GP Vegas Tournament Report - Food Chain (47th place)

Share and discuss Legacy decks, strategies, etc.

GP Vegas Tournament Report - Food Chain (47th place)

Postby Spopavich » Mon Jun 19, 2017 1:12 am

Hey everyone, I decided to write a tournament report from my first ever GP. All in all it was a really positive experience, and I look forward to attending more in the future. Almost the entirety of my opponents were easy going, fun to play with, and competent. I have been playing Food Chain for two years, almost exclusively. The deck felt extremely powerful, and I was more than happy with my choice. I had several opponents who I could tell didn't feel confident interacting with the deck or knowing what to counter. I was able to win 2 byes on Wednesday during the legacy trials, and ended up going 12-3 by the end of day 2. Moving forward I would maybe switch 1-2 things, but I'll get to that later. My list has been evolving for awhile, here is the 75 that I ran:

Food Chain://

Creatures://16
4x Deathrite Shaman
3x Baleful Strix
2x Leovold, Emissary of Trest
2x Trinket Mage
2x Walking Ballista
2x Misthollow Griffin
1x Eternal Scourge

Spells://24
4x Food Chain
4x Manipulate Fate
4x Brainstorm
3x Ponder
3x Force of Will
2x Fatal Push
1x Abrupt Decay
1x Dimir Charm
1x Misdirection
1x Painful Truths

Lands://20
3x Underground Sea
3x Tropical Island
1x Bayou
1x Swamp
1x Island
1x Forest
4x Misty Rainforest
4x Verdant Catacombs
2x Polluted Delta

Sideboard://15
2x Faerie Macabre
2x Toxic Deluge
2x Duress
2x Thoughtseize
1x Abrupt Decay
1x Misdirection
1x Force of Will
1x Carpet of Flowers
1x Pithing Needle
1x Nihil Spellbomb
1x Kitchen Finks